Dufferin Terrace was first built in 1879 at the initiative of the Governor General of Canada, Frederick Temple Blackwood also known as Lord Dufferin. Concerned about the preservation of the cultural heritage of beautiful Quebec City, Dufferin shows desire to emphasize the natural beauty of this site. This leads to the extension of the Durham terrace, which stretched to the very corner of the actual Chateau Frontenac. Dufferin was the one to lay the foundation stone of the extended terrace at that time.
Wonderfully rich in culture and history, Dufferin Terrace remains an extremely popular site for visitors to enjoy live entertainment and a unique viewpoint onto the magnificent St. Lawrence River. Overlooked by the iconic Chateau Frontenac, this boardwalk will treasure a buried archaeological crypt that reveals the remains of four defensive forts and two castles named Saint Louis, than Haldimand. For more than 200 years under French rule and the British regime, these remains were the official residence and seat of power of the French and British governors. Now a symbol of the city of Quebec beyond the seas, Dufferin Terrace annually hosts nearly 2.5 million visitors.